Prepare for Lift off…

FullSizeRender-2
Iced Chai latte with hemp milk.

Attention all passengers, get ready to venture into the new world of coffee shops while I take you through my latest food adventure.

As I walked down Greenleaf Avenue in the beautiful city of WHITTIER, Calif., trying to find somewhere to eat, I came across the newest addition to the restaurant scene; Lift Coffee Roasters. Maybe it was the home-like structure or the garden that initially drew me in. Or perhaps it was the happy young couple enjoying their cup of coffee on the terrace. Regardless of the reason, I knew I had to try this place.

At first I thought it was going to be your typical coffee shop, but boy was I wrong. As I walked through the wooden framed doors, I felt like I had entered a completely new world. The walls were covered with art that highlighted local talent, inspirational quotes, and lights that flowed throughout the shop.  It had a rustic look to it and had an assortment of seating arrangements that ranged form tables, sofas, and arm chairs. Luckily, I had come during their brunch time and had the opportunity to choose from their diverse menu options.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I see the word coffee shop, I usually think muffins and scones as your brunch options, but not for Lift. Here you have your choice of avocado toast, auntie’s French toast, cinnamon roll pancakes, and much much more. Although at the time I thought I had gone with the most typical choice, I decided to try the cinnamon roll pancakes which were far from typical. With a beautiful cinnamon swirl that started at the center of each pancake and just the perfect amount of sweet, each bite melted in my mouth. They were, without a doubt, the best pancakes I’ve ever had.

My last order of business was to try something from the Café section. Unfortunately, I am not a coffee drinker, but according to their website Lift uses single origin coffee which they say gives their drinks a more consistent taste. Nonetheless, for all you coffee lovers, its worth the try. After what seemed like an eternity of thinking of what to get, I finally decided on their Chai latte. Then, to my surprise, I was immediately faced with the difficult decision of choosing between regular milk or hemp milk. I had never heard of hemp milk before, but the barista explained to me that it would give my drink a nuttier flavor with a creamy texture. So without hesitation I told her with hemp milk, and it was the best decision I had made since choosing their cinnamon roll pancakes. Before I knew it, my drink was completely gone and lost in the abyss which is my belly.

-Photo’s taken by author.

 

Leave a Reply

